eManual Alte Geschichte

The eManual Alte Geschichte (eManual Ancient History) is a free digital offer by the Hamburg Open Online University, which teaches the basics of ancient history in a generally understandable manner and based on reliable research results.

The 39 podcasts, for which Prof. Dr. Werner Rieß and his team are responsible, provide an overview from the time of the Greek Archaic period to Roman Late Antiquity.

They are accompanied by various materials (e.g. timelines, sources, constitutional schemata) that can also be used for history teaching and offer a wide range of suggestions for in-depth study, for example in seminars.

The eManual Ancient History represents a comprehensive learning scenario for everyone interested in ancient history. It will offer a profound introduction to Greek and Roman history in four pillars.

  • Pillar I consists of: podcasts and a glossary of terms, names and places in ancient history.
  • Pillar II includes: Sources on all periods of ancient history in English or German translation with comments and key questions about the sources.
  • Pillar III contains: Texts on methods and theories of historical scholarship with key questions and comments.
  • Pillar IV offers: Working materials with practice sections on the formalities of writing works in the humanities.

    Method

    In the digital learning scenario, the learners themselves acquire an extensive and secure basic historical knowledge in an interactive and problem-oriented manner: They independently select pillars for the acquisition of knowledge and epochs of ancient history and gain an insight into the history of antiquity that is not yet available internationally in the field of e-learning. Both famous figures of antiquity (Alexander the Great, Caesar) and the cultural foundations of our present, which were laid in antiquity (democracy, Christianity), can thus be experienced digitally.

    Learning Objectives

    With independent access to learning material (podcasts, sources, secondary literature, other materials), learners can reproduce in their own words basic features of ancient social, economic, intellectual, administrative, religious and, above all, event history.

    Learners can describe different research opinions from the secondary literature of ancient history, assign them to historical-scientific methods and explain their application, especially with regard to ancient history, and develop their own interpretative approaches to historical events, actors and phenomena.

    With the help of the instructions available in the learning scenario (Pillar IV), learners can present ancient historical topics in various media and forms of presentation (lecture, term paper, handout, review) and cite ancient historical sources such as secondary literature according to the subject-specific standards of ancient history.

    Propylaeum cooperates with the eManual Ancient History and takes over the long-term archiving of the podcasts. More information will follow soon.

    Contact

    Prof. Dr. Werner Rieß
    Universität Hamburg
    Alte Geschichte
    Überseering 35 #5
    22297 Hamburg
    Tel.: +49 40 42838 4756
    E-Mail: werner.riess@uni-hamburg.de

eManual Alte Geschichte

Das eManual Alte Geschichte ist ein kostenfreies digitales Angebot der Hamburg Open Online University, das Grundlagen der Alten Geschichte allgemeinverständlich und auf der Basis abgesicherter Forschungsergebnisse vermittelt.

Die insgesamt 39 Podcasts, für die Prof. Dr. Werner Rieß und sein Team verantwortlich zeichnen, geben einen Überblick von der Zeit der griechischen Archaik bis zur römischen Spätantike.

Begleitet werden sie von diversen, auch für den Geschichtsunterricht verwendbaren Materialien (z. B. Zeitleisten, Quellen, Verfassungsschemata) und bieten vielfältige Anregungen für fachliche Vertiefungen, etwa im Rahmen von Seminaren.

Das eManual Alte Geschichte stellt ein umfassendes Lernszenario für alle an der Alten Geschichte Interessierten dar. Es bietet in vier Säulen Studierenden eine profunde Einführung in die griechische wie römische Geschichte.

  • Säule I besteht aus: Podcasts und einem Glossar zu Begriffen, Namen und Orten der antiken Geschichte.
  • Säule II umfasst: Quellen zu allen Epochen der Alten Geschichte in englischer oder deutscher Übersetzung mit Kommentaren und Leitfragen zu den Quellen.
  • Säule III enthält: Texte zu Methoden und Theorien der Geschichtswissenschaft mit Leitfragen und Kommentaren.
  • Säule IV bietet: Arbeitsmaterialien (z.B. Herrscherlisten, Zeitleisten) und eine Zitierhilfe zum Abfassen von geisteswissenschaftlichen Arbeiten.

Sämtliche Materialien stehen unter einer Creative-Commons-Lizenz und werden über einen Blog zugänglich gemacht.

Methodik

Der Erwerb eines umfangreichen und gesicherten althistorischen Grundwissens wird im digitalen Lernszenario interaktiv und problemorientiert von den Lernenden selbst gestaltet: Sie wählen selbstständig Säulen zum Wissenserwerb und Epochen der Alten Geschichte aus und gewinnen einen Einblick in die Geschichte des Altertums, wie er auch international im Bereich des E-Learning noch nicht verfügbar ist. Sowohl berühmte Gestalten der Antike (Alexander der Große, Caesar) als auch kulturelle Grundlagen unserer Gegenwart, die in der Antike gelegt wurden (Demokratie, Christentum), werden damit auch digital erleb- und erfahrbar.

Lernziele

Die Lernenden können unter selbstständigem Zugriff auf Lernmaterial (Podcasts, Quellen, Sekundärliteratur, andere Materialien) Grundzüge der antiken Sozial-, Wirtschafts-, Geistes-, Verwaltungs-, Religions- und vor allem Ereignisgeschichte in eigenen Worten wiedergeben.

Die Lernenden können unterschiedliche Forschungsmeinungen aus der Sekundärliteratur der Alten Geschichte beschreiben, geschichtswissenschaftlichen Methoden zuordnen und ihre Anwendung, besonders in Bezug auf die Alte Geschichte, erklären und eigene Deutungsansätze zu historischen Ereignissen, Akteuren und Phänomenen entwickeln.

Die Lernenden können mithilfe der im Lernszenario zur Verfügung stehenden Anleitungen (Säule IV) althistorische Themen in verschiedenen Medien und Präsentationsformen (Referat, Hausarbeit, Handout, Rezension) darstellen und althistorische Quellen wie Sekundärliteratur nach den fachspezifischen Standards der Alten Geschichte zitieren.

Propylaeum kooperiert mit dem eManual Alte Geschichte und übernimmt die Langzeitarchivierung der Podcasts. Weitere Informationen folgen demnächst hier.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Werner Rieß
Universität Hamburg
Alte Geschichte
Überseering 35 #5
22297 Hamburg
Tel.: +49 40 42838 4756
E-Mail: werner.riess@uni-hamburg.de